The Wyoming County Sheriff’s Tax Department is located on the mail floor of the Courthouse. The Tax Department is responsible for the collection of all personal and real estate taxes due in Wyoming County. TAX COLLECTIONS Tax billings are mailed mid July each year and collections start July 15 or on the first working day after that date. The current tax obligations are based on assessments of ownership July 1 of the previous calendar year. Personal property taxes are generated from assessment forms completed by the customer and forwarded to the Wyoming County Assessor’s Office. Real estate taxes are generated from the recorded deed of ownership. The state code allows for discounts of current tax year taxes for timely payments. September 1 is the deadline for 2.5% discount of the first half payment and March 1 for the second half payment. All current year taxes become delinquent Apr. 1, 2007 and all unpaid delinquents are published as legal advertisements in the local newspapers. Significant increases have been approved for publication costs effective October 2006. Early payment of taxes is advised to avoid this penalty. Unpaid delinquent real estate taxes are offered at public auction each year during November. The delinquent 2005 real estate will be offered at the Sheriff’s Tax Lien sale November 15, 2006. Payment of taxes may be in person at the tax counter or by mailing payment to the address above. Be sure to always include the tax ticket numbers when mailing payments. Discover Card is the only credit card approved for payment of taxes. Tax customers are encouraged to contact this office as soon as possible with changes of mailing addresses and/or any discrepancies of their tax billings. DMV RENEWALS All class A and G renewals may be purchased at the Tax Office. Proof of payment of personal property taxes of the 2005 and all prior years is required. You must also have a certificate of insurance completed on the reverse side of the application CONSEALED WEAPONS APPLICATIONS Concealed weapon applications are processed through this office. A printable application may be found on this web page. Applicants must be a resident of Wyoming County. Be at least 21 years of age. Have proof of approved weapons handling class (or honorable discharge DD-214). A copy of the aforementioned is required as well as a copy of a current WV driver’s license. The initial fee is $75.00 The application processes is approximately two weeks and an additional $15.00 due upon receiving the permit.
Click here for Gun Permit Instructions
Click here for Gun Permit Applications
Pam E. Trent
Chief Tax Deputy
PO Box 529
Fax (304) 732-7398
8:00am - 6:00pm